The Adapted Forestry Regime (AFR) is applied on Agreement territory by three distinct mechanisms, two of which–the Cree-Québec Forest Board (CQFB) and the Joint Working Groups (JWG)–were provided for when the Agreement was signed in 2002.

A third mechanism–the JWG coordinators–(not provided for when the Agreement was signed in 2002) was agreed on by the parties to the Agreement. While not official, the JWG coordinators have come to play an increasing role over the years. Their mandate, role and responsibilities have been formalized and defined in the context of Adapted Forestry Regime (AFR) harmonization.

Cree-Québec Forest Board

The Cree-Québec Forest Board (CQFB) is an independent organization created under the Agreement in 2003. (For more information, read the About section)

Joint Working Groups

The Joint Working Groups (JWG) are independent groups composed of four to six members, half representing the Québec party and half, the Cree party. Each of the five Cree communities affected by the AFR on Agreement territory has a JWG.

The JWGs work in the field, in a spirit of ongoing improvement, to ensure implementation of the provisions of Chapter 3 of the Agreement, facilitating concerted efforts between forest development planners and the tallymen, helping to solve everyday problems and conflicts and advising the Minister and the Board on forest plans.

The members of the Cree communities’ JWGs are mandated to ensure real, significant Cree participation in forest development activities planning on the Territory, in keeping with the Agreement, and to ensure that forest development takes wildlife habitat protection into account.

Joint Working Group Coordinators

Each party appoints a coordinator for its five JWGs. The coordinators are mandated to supervise the JWG members in applying the Adapted Forestry Regime and to ensure a flexible dynamic between them. They provide information and establish the JWGs’ basic operating procedures. From time to time, they report to the CQFB on JWG operations and inform it of amendments or modifications which, in their opinion, are required to ensure AFR implementation.

They play an active role in everyday conflict resolution. If conflict mediation fails, they submit a statement to the Minister together with their recommendations, in accordance with Schedule C-4 (article 20) of the Harmonized Agreement.

Table of JWG members and their respective coordinators

Communities Representatives – MFFP Representatives – Crees
Waswanipi Jacynthe Barrette, Head

Moise Guetsa
Carolann Tremblay

Henry George Gull, Head

Allan Saganash Jr.

Oujé-Bougoumou Carolann Tremblay, Head

Rodrigue Fapa

Arthur Bosum, Head

Tommy Rabbitskin
Sarah Cooper

Mistissini Carolann Tremblay, Head

Rodrigue Fapa
Charles Burgy (temp.)

Matthew Longchap, Head

Johnny Matoush

Nemaska Moise Guetsa, Head

Charles Burgy

Matthew Tanoush, Head

Rose Wapachee

Waskaganish Moise Guetsa, Head

Charles Burgy

 Wayne Cheezo, Head

Darryl J. Salt

Coordinators Sabrina Morissette Dion Michel